New Adventures

By P1nkdragen

Loch Venachar

I realised that with all of the garden work and stuff that I hadn't really been making the most of living in Scotland recently.  The forecast today was stunning, so I put the bike on the car and headed to Loch Katrine.  Did a loop from the Loch Katrine car park over the Duke's pass to Aberfoyle, then on the quiet road round the back to Stronachlacher pier and onto the road round the top of the loch. 

The autumn colours were out in force and going over Duke's pass was probably my favourite bit of the cycle - it had that really lovely oakey smell that damp trees give off in the autumn. I got some serious house envy going past some of the beautiful buildings in Aberfoyle and I spotted the houses which I've sometimes thought would be my dream house right on the water at the base of Loch Ard (they all have these private jettys going out in to the water that just look wonderful..)

I stopped for lunch at the pier cafe in Stronachlacher which really is in the middle of nowhere.  Just after I arrived a large (for the cafe size) party arrived for a celebration.  The couple on the table next to me were complaining that they'd waited around 40 minutes for their food - luckily mine didn't take that long!  Stunning views and some good food, but likley very busy when the boats turn up.

The sun came out briefly again whilst I was enjoying the ups and downs of the north shore of the loch.  I was very glad of the bike motor as there were some pretty steep gradients.  I image lots of people might start out thinking it was an easy cycle but there were many more hills than I expected!  Cracking day, need to do more of this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.