What I've Done

By JohnGravett

A gap in the clouds

With a red warning for Aurora, I eagerly looked out of the window, to see a mixture of heavy cloud, rain, and smoke from Guy Fawkes night bonfires. Not a chance of seeing anything. Half an hour later took another look, and it looked no better. But a quick point of the camera towards Bassenthwaite Lake showed vivid green through a tiny gap in the clouds. Deb & I donned thick coats and headed out. 

The gap in the clouds didn't really get much bigger, but I did love the intensity of the red & green, and the reflections in a remarkably smooth lake.

I'm running low on "extras", but thought the shot with the tree was too good to not include.

Earlier in the day, I drove over to Wastwater, and added Illgill Head and Whin Rigg to my Wainwright tally, (they're the two above the Wastwater Screes! Total now 132/214

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.