Living my dream

By Mima

62

It’s been a while since we’ve had a walk at Bortons Pond, and therefore since I’ve taken this shot looking up the Waitaki River. It was beautiful there today. 

As usual it was delightfully quiet and just two vehicles crawled past us on the track. Both belonged to, and contained members of, the local Runanga (Māori community) who have been planting thousands of native trees around the pond and further down the river. I know the folk of old and we had a very cheery catch-up.

The day got underway with two very long Skypes with brothers, as is the family tradition to mark a family birthday. (Previously it was phone calls.) Today is mine. 62? I feel 37.

The highlight of one conversation was the presence of my wonderful niece, who is now exactly half my age. She is probably my favourite person in the world.

After three hours of chatting I was in need of movement, hence a two hour walk at Bortons. 

Having successfully persuaded (well-meaning) friends that I really did not want to “do” anything today, I spent the afternoon in my happy place: planting out the leeks and onions, putting the beans and courgettes outside to harden off, watering everything in the tunnel and picking the first of the (very late) overwintered cauliflower for my dinner.

While I can accept that it is okay to focus on the productive delight I find pottering about Chez Mima, any kind of celebration of something as mundane as successfully surviving 62 years is beyond me at the moment. The violence in Gaza has struck me almost dumb. Every day also seems to bring a new horror from somewhere else in the world. And #3 brother clings weakly to something which can barely be called life. 

I quietly thank my lucky stars that I am still living a happy and peaceful, productive and healthy life. I take it less and less for granted. It shouldn’t be too much to expect, but for far too many people it will never be an option, through no fault of their own.

The extras are a couple more views of Bortons Pond.

Thank you for all the comments, stars and hearts for the lion hound yesterday. They are all greatly appreciated. I’ve not looked at blips for a couple of days. I’ll catch up soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.