SwissRolls

By SwissRoll

Le Bol d'or

...is a sailing race from one end of the lake at Geneva to the other end at Le Bouveret and back. There are about 500 or so particpants. When I was out running through the vineyards around lunchtime, a number of yachts were quite close, but of course I didn't have the camera with me then. This shot was taken later this afternoon when they were all further away.

Depending on the wind, the larger yachts can get there and back in under 10 hours. But I think it will be longer today. The leaders have only just passed half-way at 5pm. The smaller ones take a little longer. Last one home last year took over 30 hours. Still at least the weather is good!

Bol d'or means Golden Bowl. I think it sounds better in French.

Happy Sunday to all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.