Peter Pan in Newton Mearns

I was over in the west today, visiting my Aunt Nancy followed by my parents in Newton Mearns. I stopped in at Mearnskirk, which was originally built as a children's TB hospital in 1932 but was then redeveloped as a posh housing estate in the 1990's. Many of the original buildings were kept and are now flats (or should I say apartments, as we are posh).

The Peter Pan statue was erectedin 1949 as a memorial to Dr John Wilson, the first superintendant at Mearnskirk. It may be that Peter Pan was chosen because this was a children's hospital, however, it's believed that the father-in-law of Dr Dale (one of Dr Wilson's colleagues) had been one of J.M. Barrie's childhood friends in Kirriemuir. Only the top part of the original statue survives at the front of the Mearnskirk House NHS Continuing Care facility.

Off the the Festival Theatre this evening to see 'Flashdance', which should be fun.

Have a good evening all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.