Gaia's Child

By maura143

We're Back

Turkey Vultures are winter visitors here in North Central Florida although we do have a resident year-'round population which helps keep our streets free of roadkill remains. Turkey Vultures prefer to roost in tall dead trees, or tall pine trees. They will gather at the end of the day in a many-membered 'committee' to socialize, clean-up and sleep. In the early morning they can be seen with their wings spread full out, warming up in the sun. Early on, I was concerned about my dogs 'cleaning up' vulture poop. I was assured by my vet that their droppings are 'safe' because the bacteria in a vultures gut destroys harmful organisms, which would make lots of sense considering what they dine on! This main photo was back-lit, so the sharpness and color is not the best, but I really liked the pose. Do check the *extras...for a couple more shots of this vulture 'committee' at rest. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.