tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Last fling

My garden is stuffed full of Convolvulus bindweed (also known as devil's guts and other such hate names) and yet I bought a tiny morning glory plant, a member of the same family,  way back in the spring.  It's been twining around the conservatory ever since but without a sign of the glorious  purple-blue flowers that I remember seeing in such profusion at the Taos pueblo in New Mexico over 15 years ago.

Today was the day I winterized the conservatory and rudely chopped away at all the trailing plants that had had their day. Some will  resurrect themselves next year but the morning glory had missed its chance -  no, wait!  Too late... as I flung the snipped stems away I found that the plant was finally flowering, high up, unseen. So this shot of the exquisite but torn bloom is the only evidence of its transitory glory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.