Anna

I've been looking forward to today for some time. Our last workshop was cancelled, when heavy snow made it impossible for all the attendees to reach Woodchester village hall, a couple of miles south of Stroud. We meet approximately every six weeks, but because the hall was unavailable it has been several months. The workshop is run by Maggie and today eight of us managed to come for the whole day.

I have mentioned before that I have studied dreamwork off and on for twenty years now under Maggie's wonderful guidance. There were several people there today who were on the first dreamwork courses I ever did, so it was also a gathering of friends.

At lunchtime we all bring food to share which ensures we have a great feast of goodies. There was just enough time for me to go for a five minute walk with my camera towards the site of a famous Roman villa, where one of the finest mosaics, the Orpheus Pavement, was discovered in 1793. It dates back to 325 AD, and is one of the largest, and perhaps the most complex and intricate mosaics to be found in northern Europe. When complete it was composed of one and a half million pieces of stone. It is now thought the villa was the home of the Roman Governor of the west of England, based in Cirencester. I was reminded by my walk that I must return there when I have more time to explore.

When I got back to the hall, Anna was standing outside with a cup of tea and we chatted with another friend about photography. Anna said she didn't mind being photographed, so I quickly snapped a couple of pictures in order to have a blip, as I didn't think my pictures from my short walk would be up to much, which proved correct. So thank you to Anna, for rescuing me today. I shall see her again in four weeks time, and I have promised to take a group photo, which may or may not be popular with the others. I think we all found the day really valuable by the time we departed after 5pm this afternoon. I always find it very powerful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.