If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Black-headed Gull ( Chroicocephalus ridibundus )

For a change we headed towards Ambleside.  The first stop was Waterfoot on the lake.  It seemed a good place to look for blips.  Normally there are ducks, geese and swans not to mention the coming and going of the boats.  Surprise!  There were virtually no birds and few boats none moving.

I took a few shots of the scenery and then put on the long lens for a shot of one of the Black-headed gulls on the posts of the pier.  As soon as I got the lens on it I could see it was rung.  Taking the shot I expanded the image and could read the ring number.  Well then I just had to examine every gull I could see.  Four more were rung.

Then it was on to Hayes Garden World for coffee and cake followed by a look round then home.

For my records.  The ring numbers were ZP13      218C      2X92      2T41   225C

All have been reported through Euring and I will include any details they send to me in a future blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.