Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Cryptic

Sparrows are underrated birds, in my opinion.  People tend to look at a little brown bird and quickly move on, failing to see the fine details that distinguish species like this Golden-crowned Sparrow.  This is not a species that we see in New Jersey, so when I come to Oregon, I always hope I will see some - and today didn't disappoint!  This one is a hatch-year bird - his golden crown isn't fully developed yet.  See Extra for an adult.

Mom and Dad and I went to Tualatin National Wildlife Refuge this morning and enjoyed a nice walk near the wetlands and through some forested areas.  As we started our walk, we came across a group of mixed sparrows, chickadees, bushtits and kinglets (and even a stealthy Brown Creeper) feeding on a moss-covered oak tree.  The action was mostly too fast to capture with a camera, but it was great fun to watch them flitting around, darting in and out of the mossy branches.  As a bonus, both Black-capped and Chestnut-sided chickadees were calling so I was able to hear the difference in their vocalizations.  Geeky stuff, but fun.

After our walk, we stopped for lunch and now back at the condo warming up and relaxing.  Dad, in spite of steadfastly saying he was not going to nap, is catching a short one as I write.  Really enjoying this time with my parents.

I've already indulged in something dark today - with tiny bits of dried raspberries.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.