Edisteve

By edisteve

Here’s looking at you NHS

Following on from yesterday’s knees problem, I phoned the GP surgery this morning got through almost immediately and had an appointment to see my GP (Jonathan) for 10.15am. Upshot is that my osteoarthritis is progressing, but he thinks we can still keep it under control currently without jabs or knee replacements just yet. I have a new series of knee exercises to do … ouch. 

I also had a couple of other things to discuss with him, so we had a handy catch up overall, with me leaving with some prescriptions in hand.

I know we are lucky at our GP practice, as it always works this way, and we never have to wait to see a GP. I can’t understand why all GP practices do not work this way, because surely if some can do it, they can all do it. That is if they are organised properly and have the right amount of staff to cover the number of patients registered with them and assuming that funding is equal.

That said, the other (and neighbouring) GP practice, which is based in the same primary care centre is the total opposite and has been chaotic for years … those in Musselburgh will know what I mean. There have been many reports (inc. MPs and MSPs saying they will sort it)  into how to improve it over the years, and yet the Facebook groups still bemoan the fact that the town’s two GP practices are polar opposites in how they provide services! 

Yes, we are lucky, we are with the good practice if you had not already worked this out. It was all about biding our time and getting signed up quickly when the good practice was taking on new patients. However, it should not be this way, as all GP surgeries should be equally good.

Meantime, my blip was taken while I was waiting  for my prescription to be dealt with.

I hope you have had a good day, and sorry if I rambled on about the NHS too much … I think it’s because I am so passionate about it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.