ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

The 'Bosmolen', Egmond aan den Hoef

'Bos' = 'woods'... but I don't see any, do you?
'Hoef' = 'hoof' = actually means 'hoof' but it must be referring to the back area or the end of something.  Traditional names... no time for research now.
The Egmond is a body of water.  Most likely attached to a polder?  Loads of polders in this area, that is certain.

Built in 1591 and renovated in 1993 -- 400+ years before the first ever renovation!  Impressive!  Had to walk a bit on the polder to reach it, but I didn't mind, it was so worth it.

I had to run after this one.  Or should I say the clouds ran after me?  This was Plan F.  Started nearby, following cloud radar, but there were just too many and the sun could not come out.  On and on northwards I went and one after the other I had to strike places from my list.  Finally ended up here, of all places, a lot further than I intended.  Any blue in the shot did not last long.  And am I lucky it was facing the road?  Very, very cold weather and I didn't hang around.  An extra of the baby!

What we do to get our 4015th shot, no?  11 years!  I knew this was coming so soon after the other milestone, and I really wanted a windmill shot for today.  Fabulous lot of trouble to get it, too.

First, though, I dropped by the 'office' to leave my classroom key and copy machine card, as I forgot to include these with all the things I returned a month ago.  Thankful I don't have to go back there.

Upon returning home, wanted to post something on FB and was met with a message from Meta -- pay a fee or accept ads and allow Meta to use my personal and private information.  It was the last straw!  Decided without a moment's hesitation to terminate my account.  Screenshot the Meta message and posted it, and tagged friends at the same time.  The Ellaphant's FB account will be deleted in a few hours, at midnight tonight, to be precise.  No way will I pay!  They charge the companies millions to advertise, and now they'll be charging us millions to view these adverts and then dig into our private info and use it?  What nonsense!  Absolutely unacceptable.  I've managed to delete almost all my photo albums, until FB blocked the tool, saying I've 'overused' it.  Will try again later, but midnight is midnight and that'll be the end of it.

My email will be on my profile here, if anyone wants to stay in touch.  Some have reached out via WhatsApp, which is quick and personal.

After dinner, Beau picked up AW for their usual Thursday evening bridge and I'll have some quiet hours to study.  Thankful for options.

Thankful for this community!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.