wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Sharing

Several different people had told me to go to Ranworth, to see the broads and the church tower, and all the pretty Norfolk-ness. Shari is about to head back to Australia and also wanted to visit, so we gathered the troops and set out on an adventure! We caught the bus to South Walsham and then walked the 1.5 miles to Ranworth. The weather wasn't too sure, but it decided to cooperate in the end and we even enjoyed some patches of sun throughout the say.

Our first stop was the church, the so-called 'Cathedral of the Broads', where we climbed the tower, admired the views, waved at some kids in a horse carriage going past, then clambered back through the trapdoor, down the two ladders and 89 steps. It's nice to go places where health and safety don't matter so much ;)

The church has a little cafe, run by volunteers, we stopped in for a cuppa and some cake. It caused great consternation that my apple pie needed the last of the cream and the others were having scones, but we reassured them and coped. It was good sustenance to send us off into the alder carr (marshy broad). We felt like we were heading into Shrek's territory.

They had a floor with binoculars and telescopes to watch all the birdies in the reserve. Shari and Hannah did their best to share.

After a lunch in the pub we walked back to South Walsham and there ended our adventure. In the evening I went to see The Great Gatsby with another friend. I wasn't sure if I wanted to see it - I don't like the book at all, but do generally love Baz Luhrmann's sense of huge drama. In the end I really enjoyed looking at it, and almost even liked the characters! I did read the book about 10 years ago, so it possible I just missed the point entirely - I appreciated it a little more this time, but destructively self-engrossed characters frustrate me to no end, so I don't think I'll like the book any more now.

It was a great day, lots of laughter, seen a little bit more of Norfolk, enjoyed some fresh air and exercise. Thanks girls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.