Igor

By Igor

us and them

This insignificant little flower seems to provoke conflicting views around this time of year.  Which is a shame.

My own experience of conflict is limited.  A couple of fights in school and then when I was 17 and a mod, being chased by a gang of rockers.  That’s about it.  A charmed life?  Perhaps. Lucky? Certainly.

What I’ve learnt has come largely from books.  (And Anniemay will testify that I get most of the history questions in TV quiz shows correct).

As far back as records exist, it seems that wars are usually started by politicians.  But other people have to deal with the consequences.  And these ‘others’ often have little say in the matter. 

"Us and them ..."

Just to be clear - when I say ‘politicians’ I mean those in charge; presidents, prime ministers, dictators, kings, queens, emperors, generals, high-priests, despots and those behind the throne, pulling the strings.  You get the idea. 

And by ‘other people’ I mean professional armies, conscripts, volunteers, civilians, and anyone else who just happens to be in the way at the time …..

Many of those who return from the fighting, are broken - scarred on the inside as well the outside.  Both my dad and Anniemay’s, said little about their experiences of war. 

"And after all, we’re only ordinary men …"

All too often the broken ones are abandoned and left to get on with it.  If that were not the case, there would be no need for charity.  

Some people do care, which is what this little flower means.  (To me, anyway.)

"Forward he cried from the rear
And the front rank died
And the general sat
And the lines on the map
Moved from side to side"

Pink Floyd

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.