Bill The Cat

By billthecat

Top Brass

brass, Noun,
1. A yellow alloy of copper and zinc.

This is the Atlantic Star, a brass medal, given to those who served in the Atlantic during WWII, plus some memorabilia. I think the aircraft is a Corsair.

Like most people, my grandparents and their families were involved in and terribly affected by the war. One of my grandfathers flew as a Fleet Air Arm pilot from aircraft carriers supporting the North Atlantic convoys.
I don't know much about it, and although it's too late to ask, information is out there so is worth finding out and remembering.

To sum up those events with a little piece of brass and some sea coloured ribbon does not do it justice, but as L.P.Hartley said, "The past is a foreign country: they do things differently there." Perhaps not as much has changed as we would like to think.

This will most likely be my entry on the WBC theme of BRASS this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.