Out and About

By Puffin

The Dockwray (was Romney) Footbridge

As a result of my study of Kendal's river bridges I've discovered that this footbridge, which I have blipped before, was moved here from further down river. Remember the boring concrete structure,  that I blipped on Wednesday and mentioned that it replaced a footbridge in 1990.  Well this is that said footbridge. It  became apparent that a road bridge was needed after someone tried to drive a car across this bridge when it was back down at Romney Road. It had stood there since 1907 and was to be scrapped but the Kendal Civic Society lobbied to keep it and it was moved up river to its present location.  I thought that was so interesting I'm blipping the bridge again . And that completes my study of the bridges.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.