The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

The Shire

Giant Hosta Lilies, lush green moss, and exposed tree roots grace the hidden paths of my favorite place to sit and think.

Today, I was company to several duck families, all busy training their babies to hunt in the big pond, and take shelter by the stream that flows through the nearby wood. I was amazed at how much the ducklings had grown in the two days since I last visited their home.

I love nature, and flee to the solitude the local arboretum whenever I have time and the weather cooperates.

Recently, I read an article that hypothesized that we inherit certain talents and desires from our ancestors. I had to laugh, as I have written about this same phenomenon in my first novel. Many of my relatives share common interests and love gardening, cooking, music, and are creative in art and writing.

I don't think it takes a PhD and years of research to figure out that common DNA carries traits beyond eye and hair color, or what potential one has for heart disease or diabetes.

A simple observance on a beautiful day full of greenery and Mother Nature's children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.