SilverImages

By SilverImages

The Artist

“I dream of painting and then I paint my dream.”
Vincent van Gogh
Spent the day exploring Langport, beginning at St Mary’s church car park on the outskirts of town, making the most of the morning sunshine. We walked along The Hill into town, past the Hanging Church (now a Masonic Hall), All Saints with its terrace view over the flooded fields of the Somerset Levels below and some beautiful architecture down the hill into town.
Plenty of interesting little shops to divert K1 and architectural subjects for me along Bow Street to the bridge over the river Parrett. It looks pretty high to me, although a local tells us it’s about normal for this time of year, which is just below the coffee deck outside Shakespeare Glass and Arts. I fancied a bit more terra firma for my coffee and cake so we headed back into town to The Kiln Café, which is so much more than a Pottery Shop. Tables were set out for people to come in to decorate their chosen piece of pottery, which would be fired later for their collection. We were offered a table with a good view of the ‘artists’ at work, to just enjoy our coffee and cake and enjoy the ’entertainment’. Very relaxing just watching them. I managed to sneak a few photos unnoticed, then just before leaving I went over to explain what I’d been doing and show her the photo; she happily gave her permission for me to use it on Blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.