This is the day

By wrencottage

Will I never learn?

I must remember that even squirrel-proof fat ball feeders are accessible by squirrels if I fill them up right to the top! Never mind, after watching his antics as he abseiled down from the bird table, one leg waving about in the air, one leg clinging to the bird table and his two front paws holding the feeder tight, I decided he deserved a reward for the entertainment value.

That was a bit of light relief in an otherwise emotionally-charged day. We watched the Remembrance Service at the Cenotaph and marvelled at the courage, dignity and camaraderie that was displayed by the veterans of all ages as they joined the parade to honour their fallen comrades. Tonight we shall be catching up with the recording on BBC iPlayer of last night’s Royal British Legion Festival of Remembrance. I shall have the tissue box close by. I always need it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.