HelHSS

By HelHSS

Our Peacemaker

The Great Finn has passed away. Our Nobel Peace Prize winner.

Our former President Martti Ahtisaari was buried yesterday. I watched the end of the funeral ceremony on television just today (the picture). I would have loved to accompany this person in his last journey. But the rain took the win.

President Martti Ahtisaari was larger than life. Despite his actions and achievements, he was able to maintain his simplicity, modesty, and national character.

Martti Ahtisaari also touched my own life and therefore remains strongly in my memories. He received an honorary doctorate at the promotion of the Faculty of Philosophy of the University of Helsinki, the same ceremony where I was promoted at the end of my degree. He sat with his spouse Eve in front of the other party guests, in the place of honor, of course. When it was my turn, the situation was very exciting, after all, the presidential couple was sitting behind me, closely following the deliveries.

Martti Ahtisaari also touched my life in that he spoke on behalf of our mentally disabled war veterans in the 90s to have right to get compensation as other wounded veterans. This group was perceived as a shame, and had no history, they were not talked about. Later years I had an honour to work with these people. After I had already left my work with them, in the 21st century, they were gradually brought into the light of day, equal to other veterans.

The great Finn has now left us. Where he went, we don't know. I wish him a good trip regardless.

In the words of Martti Ahtisaari: "Ai peijoona" loosly translated "oh no".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.