Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Setting up my Olympus OM1 Mk3

What a trial!

He has a very pleasant voice and manner so all should have gone well.  The problem was more mine as brain fog quickly set in and also the menu system he was using was marginally different to the set up on my camera, so because he was moving through quite quickly I had to keep stopping the video and rewinding.  Any way I got there in the end, though had to make a couple of alterations.  A good learning experience for me and I picked up a couple of tips that would not have happened if I’d done my usual set up.  I’d been thinking of trading this camera in but my recent trip to photograph the owls has rekindled my enthusiasm.

I’d bought a couple of small new bird feeders and set up a sunflower hearts feeder quite close to the back door and the birds arrived en-mass.  Blue and great tits first ( they are used to the peanut feeder in this spot) but then a couple of goldfinches and two green finches came and also a bedraggled looking lesser spotted woodpecker.  The weather was foul!

I rattled off a 100+ images in seconds and then deleted them.  I’m not sure my garden birds were ready for that. I’ve saved a couple of blue tit photos which are not brilliant.  I’ll keep playing with the settings until I’m happier.
Ps I also took them through glass which won’t have helped the image quality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.