If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Remembrance

I wandered down to the centre of the village for the laying of the poppy wreaths.   There was a good turnout of villagers and a parade of Scouts, Guides, Cubs, Brownies and Beavers from the village troops/companies.

The last post was played.  I can't hear the last post without thinking of the bandsman who played his own last post in our living room one Christmas when I was a boy.  The whole point of the day is to make you think.  Among my thought was obviously the blipper ASG (formally known as Airborne Sky God) and his determination to list all his fallen colluegues.  A shockingly long list as I remember it.

One thing I have noticed is the way poppies have changed.  When I was a boy all poppies were alike with a wire stem that you pushed through the fabric and twisted.  Unlike modern poppies, they stayed in place.  The modern supposedly recycleable poppy is in my opinion useless,  I like to get my poppy early and wear it every time I leave the house until Remembrance Sunday.  The modern poppy just doesn't stand up to such punishment.

The blip shows one of last year's poppies, a broach Clickychick has inherited from my SiL and a modern "gell" poppy.   I think the plan for future years will be make a donation and wear one of the more durable poppies. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.