kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Virginia V

Virginia V and I had a most wonderful "date" on Saturday. She even dressed up for me! Many thanks to NannaK and mikeday. Both know the Virginia V well, but were kind enough to keep the secret, from yesterdays teaser. I think the Virginia V sailed past both of your homes today, as we made our way from South Lake Union to Portage Bay and back.

"Virginia," otherwise known as the Virginia V - and the "V" is NOT "Vee, " but rather FIVE, as in Virginia V. The Virginia V just turned 91 this year, and looks better than new, after having more than EIGHT million dollars of work done in recent years. She is in bristol condition, and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places!

I crewed on her some twenty five years ago, and have now returned to become a volunteer once again.

Her triple expansion steam engine came out of the Virginia IV, and is over 100 years old! The steam engine is SO quiet that folks can stand right next to it, and carry on a normal conversation without having to raise their voices in the least bit.

There is no doubt in my mind that she will outlive me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.