Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Case Histories

It’s been a non-stop day, starting with an all-out effort to complete at least one of my New Zealand photo books to meet the deadline for Bobbooks 25% discount. I’d dearly love to have done more, but as with everything, compiling books takes me an absolute age. Even having selected all my wildlife shots, there’s so much faffing to get my layouts as I want them, and once I finally complete I feel a sense of great relief quickly followed by a sense of trepidation that I’ve made errors, chosen the wrong shots or layouts, made errors with my text etc. It’s like my frequent indecision with Blip  choices, but on a mammoth scale. First world problems, I know ….

Project completed, we’re off to Liverpool via Meols to visit Daniel and Solveig, before a concert in the Philharmonic Hall. In complete contrast to the recent Vikingur Olafsson performance, this is John Wilson’s a brashly entertaining mega-orchestral performance of music from the golden days of Hollywood. The sound is spectacular, if undemanding - foot-tapping and smile-inducing rather than spiritually uplifting. 

We arrive home late - and I’m exhausted; there’s been no time to even look at journals, I’m afraid. 

I’ve taken only one shot today - the opposite of yesterday on so many levels. It’s a quick shot along a rainy Hope Street as we return to the car post-concert. These piles of concrete cases are part of a sculpture by John King, commissioned by LIPA, ‘each labelled with the person it 'belongs to' with each one having a famous owner from the Liverpool region: social reformers, musicians, writers, and conductors.’  One day I’ll return and take a better shot, but I rather like the sense of damp dereliction added to by the wet autumn leaves scattered around. 

https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/a-case-history-330990

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.