Marionb

By Marionb

Not MY Collection

I have too many collections as it is - china, fabric, books, table linens, yarn ..you name it...

So, years ago, when husband's family stamp collection was deliberately left behind in my house at divorce time..I had absolutely no interest in it - and no desire to acquire an interest and take up yet another hobby; so, I stashed it in a cupboard in the laundry room where it has lived for almost 50 years....and  unfortunately, as yet, no-one has stepped up to claim it...

Having recently weeded out my book collection, I have been on the look-out for other categories of overabundance that need to be purged...like "things I will never ever use and do not even want"...things which would be a lot easier to get rid of than things I love...

So...out came the Stamp Collection....a prime candidate for the donation box...but it wasn't as easy as I thought...Like, what do I do with it? Where do I donate it? Perchance, could there be a valuable stamp hidden somewhere on those tattered pages? How would I find that out? Do I really care? Is this going to be too much of a hassle? Is it really doing any harm sitting that cupboard? Hmmmm...

You guessed it...it is back in its cubby hole by the water meter until I figure all that out....

TEACUP SERIES: (extra) Cup #3:  Napoleon Ivy, by Wedgwood. My mother's "good" china..loved by us all..and which will never ever get "donated".
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.