Dominie

By Dominie

Art of beauty

We had a picnic lunch with the family at Corrigans Beach Park today before they drove home over the mountains to Canberra. It happened to be a community market day and, while scrounging around the stalls, we found our beautician friend Noamy performing facial threading on clients eager to have unwanted hair removed. I know, the lighting and all sorts of other things are wrong but, to be honest, I didn't want to get too close, and just poked my camera into the tent, snapped and ran.

Threading is a beauty technique commonly practised in East Asia and the Middle East. Unlike waxing, it does not remove a layer of skin. Hairs are caught in a knotted thread and forced out by the root in a quick back-and-forth movement. Noamy is clearly expert at the procedure, and I heard no yelps or complaints from her customers. But you can understand why I didn't stay to watch.

Mrs Dominie and I are relaxing at home this evening in peace and quiet, the boisterous demands of grandchildren at an end again for a while. Wish they were coming back tomorrow . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.