antipodia

By antipodia

Peaceful Sunday?

It is not my intention to offend anybody here but I am a little puzzled by the actions of this group outside our tiny local Uniting Church. The bells had just rung (recorded I think since there is no bell tower) and sounding very sweet.

Walking back from the deli from buying some milk and walking the dog and hear all this angry shouting. Being a nosy parker I have to go and look don't I?

This small group of people were picketing the church with placards (of a "religeous" bent) and shouting about the badness of homosexuals and single people etc. There was a placard with "equalloveadelaide.com" written on it so of course (being nosey) I looked it up and got directed to a site which is about being cured of homosexuality.

Hmmm.... our little church was probably a quarter full of local oldies. About 6 cars parked nearby. I say "our" because I like this little church as a building and what people do inside it is their business so long as they don't try to convert me. And I am going to go to the next "blessing of the animals" because that idea delights me.

I like the old hippy phrase.. "do what you want to do, be what you want to be, so long as you don't hurt anybody".

That screaming bloke upset me a bit. Mainly for disturbing the gentle peace of a sunny Sunday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.