cazzfoto

By cazzfoto

The York Ghost Merchants

"A most remarkable shop on the most extraordinary street in the most haunted city in the world."

I've never managed to work out why this shop on the Shambles is so popular. There is always a queue of folk waiting to get in, the queue being managed by staff in period costume. Apparently, the wait at busy periods can be in excess of 3 hours! When I walked past this morning just after 9:00, there was already a queue of twenty or more. I took quick photos for my blip and Googled the shop when I got home. They have, according to their website, "resurrected the obscure tradition of ghost making, creating a range of handcrafted ghosts following the traditions imposed by The Sorrowful Guild of Master Ghost Makers." 

They are also masters of social media and have made the ghosts the must-have souvenir from York and the shop one of York's top tourist destinations. I don't think I'll be standing in the rain for 3 hours for one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.