WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Go do your thing … Aye right!

Back Blipped for yesterday, I was too tired when I got home.
After leaving Sabrina’s and meeting up with Marc, I caught the train from Airdrie to Glasgow Central OK. However the train from Glasgow to Carlisle was delayed by half an hour. I thought I might not make my connection but we arrived in Carlisle in good time. So I headed for the Leeds train only to find nothing on the information board, it was completely blank and switched off.
I went to ask a platform guy and he said I should ask at the ticket office.
There quite a few people queuing including others looking for the same train.
The poor girl dealing with it all said all the trains down that way are cancelled. We asked if there was to be a bus alternative. No, she said.
So how do we get home, we asked. She shrugged her shoulders. Taxi?
We asked if we would be reimbursed, she said probably.
Another lady a bit older than me suggested we stick together so we went to find a taxi. We were lucky and found one with a really nice driver. We had contemplated booking into a hotel but there was no guarantee that the trains would be running the next day.
The taxi driver told us exactly how much the journey would cost between the two of us - £270! It was our only option so we jumped in. The other lady, Mary and I got chatting and the journey was quite pleasant apart from the strong wind and rain, she is a lovely person and we exchanged phone numbers in case we needed info from each other. I ended up getting home at the same time the train would have arrived in Hellifield but I was knackered.
The girl at the ticket office had given us leaflets on how to complain and we each got receipts from Grant, the taxi driver.
We knew it was because of floods and fallen trees and we understood that the trains couldn’t run, but there was no communication, no announcements nothing on any information boards. 
I have emailed Northern Railway today with copies of the receipts.
I hope they don’t refuse reimbursement saying it was an act of God! £135 is a lot of money for me!

Anyway I was so glad to get home and get to bed.

The last 3 times I have travelled up to Scotland there have been delays or cancellations.

:-0 X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.