Devonian

By Mover

The Power of Negative Thinking

Yesterday I had a letter from United Utilities asking me to fill a form in and return it because being of pensionable age I was vulnerable in the event of a power cut, and they needed to know about me. This morning I realised we had one in the night. We  haven’t had a power cut for months.
There was a terrific lecture at the Museum about Kiwis in Torquay during the First World War. David Hinchcliffe had thoroughly researched this subject and sourced many photos from the New Zealand Archives on the internet. Between 1917 and 1919, between 20,000 and 40,000 New Zealand soldiers passed through Torquay. This was their story - why they were here, where they stayed and what they did during that time.
The photo is La Scala theatre which was never finished, but along with other buildings provided a useful meeting place for the Kiwis in Torquay 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.