Cailleach

By Cailleach

Fun.....and games.

Mrs Doris has escaped the autumnal gloom by taking herself off to sunny California for a month, to see the eldest Doris son, who lives there with his family.

Mr Doris doesn't fly, so I've been 'looking after him'; ie enjoying restaurant quality meals and getting hammered......at backgammon I mean, not on his best wines.

Today, I took him to a local health hub for his covid and flu injections. The nurse was fabulous. 'In which buttock would you prefer to be injected?' she asked.
'Eh?' squeaked Doris, clearly alarmed.
The nurse smiled. 'Just making sure you're listening,' she said.
Once she'd jagged both his arms, she solemnly informed him that men usually react badly to the current covid injection, but that there was a proven way to alleviate any negative symptoms.
'Oh yes?' said Doris.
'Yes.' She smiled again. 'Just try a bit of hoovering....dusting...cooking..'

She was a hoot. Afterwards, as Doris was putting his coat on, she asked me if I'd had my injections. I said no, to which she replied, 'Well you're obviously your dad's carer, so I'll just do them now.'

Doris kept muttering that he'd have had to have been a very advanced child to have fathered me, but I laughed all afternoon.....until he beat me at backgammon. Again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.