KathyH58

By KathyH58

Nov 15

If I ever go to the Scotiabank Center for an event again I will take the ferry across the harbor. I do not like driving the truck in the parkade and trying to fit it into a parking spot.
Last winter I was going into an underground parkade, the height said 6 feet. I think the aerial must have touched the bar because the gate closed before I could get thru, then I had to get turned around to get out of there. Parts of the parkade today were at 5'11". I didn't even try to get to those levels. After driving around a few times I did get lucky and found a spot. It gave me a claustrophobic feeling knowing that the roof of the truck was only a few inches below the next level of the parkade.
The show was great, it was worth the $100 I paid to see it. It's not often that a Broadway show comes to Halifax.
I remember when 9/11 happened. I was still living in Windsor, it was not quite a year since my marriage had ended. I was still working on things for the upcoming craft shows and I didn't have a radio or tv on. I went to the post office to check the mail and heard people talking about the planes hitting the WTC. I came home and turned the tv on, and stayed close to the tv for the rest of the day. I brought the pieces I was painting upstairs so I could work on them in the dining room.
It wasn't just Gander that planes were diverted to, many planes also landed in Halifax. It was before social media was big, but word got out that people in town were organizing to donate some supplies, toothbrushes and personal items. I went out and picked up a few things and dropped them off to go with the other donations. I also remember the parents of one of my co-workers at the time opened their home so people from the planes could have a shower and a quiet place to spend a few hours.
I also remember that my sister and BIL were camping in New Hampshire at the time, and they were told to head for the nearest border crossing to get back into Canada.
So many memories, but it was a time that showed Maritimers would pull together to help those who needed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.