cyclops

By cyclops

Export Minister

I was at two events with Lord Offord of Garvel, the UK Exports Minister yesterday - a networking lunch on the theme of the recent UK/Australia Free Trade Agreement and a reception at the Consulate allowing the Trade Mission to meet a wide range of local business and public sector buyers and experts.

He was pressed back into action this morning for an event at the Tech Hub (pictured), and then again this afternoon for a round table meeting with the Australian eSafety Commissioner, so he's been kept very busy.  

He's clearly passionate about British (and especially Scottish!) business, very hard working, and quite a character.

The meeting with the eSafety commissioner was the highlight of the trip so far for me.  She has done a huge amount to further the cause of online safety and Safety By Design in particular, things I am passionate about.  She has a wonderful way of communicating too, and I frequently borrow some of her examples and analogies in my own presentations (while always crediting her of course).  We've spoken at the same online events a couple of times, but we've not spoken directly or met before.  I was delighted that she recognised me straight away and knew of my work, and that we were able to have a really good discussion about both my companies technology and UK safety tech in general (I chair an industry association so had two hats on).  

Lord Offord certainly didn't see his role as purely ceremonial and got stuck into a good discussion about the role of regulators in business, and the "tech for good" movement of which we are a part.  He left rather late, having got stuck into the conversation and repeatedly brushed off civil servants trying to usher him to the next event!

I'm looking forward to working more closely with the eSafety Commissioner in future (and hopefully Lord Offord too!).

I am thoroughly networked out by this time - it's been a long day.

Tomorrow we have a few things in the morning but it should be a bit less full on than today, then I'm looking forward too meeting up with some of my family here later on! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.