Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Duncansby Head Stacks

Autumn Adventure - Day12 (NC500 - Day 4)

It was a delight to wake up to sunshine this morning after so much rain and wind in the last few days. After a walk around the harbour, I had my breakfast back at the van with the side door open and the sun shining on me.

I checked out of the John O’Groats campsite a little later and drove the short distance east to Duncansby Head Lighthouse. I parked there and walked along the clifftop towards the beautiful Duncansby Head Stacks, poking out of the water like pyramids. If you look closely and see the dark dot on the left side of the picture, this is the blue fishing boat that was in the main picture of yesterday’s blip. I saw it leave the harbour early this morning, and then I watched it circling around near the stacks during this walk.

For more views, and of the lighthouse, see the first Extra photo. The top left of the extra photo is the Geo of Sclaites - a deep cleft in the rock caused by sea erosion. It’s a well-known spot to see nesting birds in the spring. The lighthouse is another example of a Stevenson lighthouse - designed by the same Stevenson family as the author Robert Louis Stevenson (more info on my blip of Oct 6th).

The walk was not difficult and less than two miles there and back, but that’s probably just beyond the limit of how far I can walk with my stupid foot problem! I was relieved to get back to the van!

I went back to John O’Groats and had some lunch and an ice cream there. I also finally got a decent picture of me by the famous signpost - had to be done!  See second Extra photo.

My next night’s stop wasn’t very far away. I drove west and was disappointed not to be able to visit the Castle of Mey, which was the Queen Mother’s summer residence, bought and restored by her after the death of her husband, King George VI. I didn’t stop because I knew the castle was closed for the season, but found out later I could have toured the gardens and grounds. Next time!

My stop for tonight was the campsite near Dunnet Head. I checked in, took a few pictures of the stunning beach right by the campsite (see third Extra photo), and promptly left again, so that I could make it up to Dunnet Head to watch the sunset. I wasn’t disappointed!  See fourth Extra photo.

Dunnet Head is the northernmost point of mainland Britain. There is another Stevenson lighthouse there, which I think is now a private residence. I was able to see the lighthouse lamp illuminated!  The lighthouses are controlled remotely these days, so there’re no longer any lighthouse keepers.

The pink cliffs that are across from Dunnet Head is Orkney. I almost made that my main picture. It was so beautiful in that light. I’d love to go to Orkney - next time! The stretch of water between the mainland and Orkney is the treacherous Pentland Firth - actually not a firth at all, but a straight. It’s one of the most dangerous areas for shipping in the world because of the strong tidal currents. Now I understand why the ferry to the Orkneys frequently cancels!

By the time I got back to the campsite it was dark. Evenings on this trip are spent making dinner, showering, and planning the next day.


I’m very, VERY late posting my blips from my Scotland trip!!  I’m trying to catch up. Scroll back if you want to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.