Lisa's life...

By lisa24270

Drip

Today could've easily been a write off.

My plan was to go my parents and finalise some business bits, whilst also dropping off my brother's birthday gifts for this weekend.

Last night I broke another tooth :(

I'm finding out that this is all too common in ADHDers. Not only because we often forget to brush our teeth as our brains can't form routines, but also because the actual sensory overload of brushing means we don't do it for long enough either. I vividly remember the school dentist saying to me that if I brushed my teeth as well as I brushed my hair, she'd have to see me much less often but at a young age I just didn't have the knowledge or vocabulary to explain that I didn't at all like the feeling of the toothbrush in my mouth. Add to this my natural lack of calcium and the fact that some of my medications prevent me forming sufficient saliva, you'll see why I'm permantly in a pickle!

I thought I'd had a brilliant idea by using an electric toothbrush - the head is smaller and should take less time because it will be cleaning faster. 
However, because I have the clumsy comorbidity of dyspraxia, it doesn't take much to bash the wrong side of the head into my already delicate teeth...hence I lost half of a front one last night.

I rang my dental surgery this morning knowing I'd have to be extra brave and see anyone that was on duty today but my kind and patient dentist fitted me into an emergency slot for a temporary repair right after his lunch break :)

Now I have to be VERY careful as my permanent fix isn't until the 1st of February as he's taking a long overdue trip to Brazil to see his family. That was useful knowledge in itself though as I usually refer to him as my lovely Italian dentist!

While I was making that appointment my plumber texted me to see if I was home as I have parts here to replace faulty bits in the shower. So he was able to get that done and be his friendly chatty self distracting me from my impending trip to the dentist's chair.

So, to make a long story even longer, I thought the new shower water represented motion quite well for Abstract Thursday!! :)

Tomorrow I have work and a hospital appointment for more physio so I'm going over to my parents on Saturday now instead - which has the bonus of not only seeing my brother, I might see a couple of gorgeous little people too :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.