Plage Bonaparte

La fête des pères. M got to lie in a little whilst I started preparing the lunch, although he took over later.

In-between times I was watching French video lessons, and learned that it`s considered very rude to say "bonjour" again when you see someone for the second time later in the day. Oh dear! I`m sure I have made that mistake many times. I don`t remember ever learning that before, but at least we know now, even if only 9 months late.

It seems I've missed yet more of J's concerts back in Guernsey :-(

After lunch, M preferred to spend Fathers' Day resting quietly at home, so Alice and I went to find the "stèle" at Plage Bonaparte at Plouha, from where 135 allied airmen were smuggled back to the UK under the noses of the German watchtower on the cliffs above. There are many other plaques at the tunnel entrance to the beach, with "thank you"s from the UK, USA and Canada.

Alice played on the beach for about 90 minutes, with various other children. Three beautiful horses came through the tunnel, down the slip and across the rocks to reach the sand and waves too. A helicopter and small plane flew overhead (both uncommon around these parts!) Alice was splashing in and out of the waves, in rock pools, making sandcastles, trying to catch fish, throwing buckets of sand and water at me - along with her little friend - which they thought was funny and I didn`t! I`ll add other photos to my blog.

The photo shows "la stèle" on the cliff top which overlooks Plage Bonaparte. Plouha's Gwin Zegal harbour (which I've blipped previously) is on the right in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.