BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Marketing

Today I was giving a talk to one of our church groups. It was on Philadelphia following my previous presentation to them on New York. As you’d expect, lots of photos.

I do like to get my facts right so I do a bit of research, refreshing what I heard when there or to help flesh it the stories.

When I got to the section about food - and Philly Cheesesteaks - I did begin to wonder about Philadelphia Cheese. While it does not feature in the cheesesteak ( provolone is the cheese of preference) it is one of my favourites in sandwiches with cucumber and mint.

I was surprised to learn (according to the internet) that it was first manufactured in New York by Kraft Heinz in 1872. They chose Philadelphia as the name in 1880 because the area was at the time known for its high-quality food and dairy products.

You live and learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.