YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Skipton

Met my lifelong friend H in Skipton today. My first bus from the village was late, and 2 buses in Bingley were cancelled. After a 15 minute wait the Leeds to Keighley bus arrived and thankfully got me to the bus station just 2 minutes before the Skipton bus departed.  Lots of flooding in the fields alongside the roads. Met H and headed straight for a coffee.  The chosen cafe had a queue outside so we picked another which was a cute old fashioned tea room.  We were amused as it was run by 3 elderly ladies and one reminded us of the TV comedy with Julie Walters as Mrs Overall.  We then had a wander around town and went to a few shops - a brilliant new fishmongers has popped up in the town centre - the last line on the sign outside amused me so I made it my blip.  Later we managed to get a table at our original choice of cafe where we knew H would be able to get GF cake. We never stop talking, and soon it was time to leave.  A quick shop in M&S and then I went back to the bus station only to find one bus had just left and the next was delayed.  Got back to Keighley to find 2 shuttle buses had been cancelled and the next was a 20 minute wait. The next bus was then of course overcrowded, but I got back to Bingley with just 2 minutes to get across the road for the bus back to the village.  A bit late, but made it to 3 & Go to round off the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.