Knottman2

By Knottman2

Clothes Pegs

One of my domestic responsibilities is the twice weekly washing and drying.
Given my advanced years and balance problems reaching up to lines in the garden to hang things out to dry can be hazardous with the danger of falls. So I am allowed to have a tumble drier.
Of course I use it when the sun shines so that it is powered by the solar panels on the roof.
If I could not afford a tumble drier I would have what my mother had eighty years ago. That was a rack attached to the kitchen ceiling which could be lowered with a pulley then pulled up to be out of the way. There was also something that stood in front of the fire and had the nice name Winterhedge. So called because in Summer clothes were laid on a garden hedge to dry.
I wonder if others had these things ?
Up until a few years ago I also used to do the ironing. But now all my shirts are non iron. Handkerchieves are just smoothed out my hand and folded. After all as soon as I take a clean one out of the drawer it is scrunched up in my pocket.

So I did not buy any of these colourful clothes pegs at the market this morning. But the lady selling them was still kind enough to let me take a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.