Robin at large

By Robin

Rotonda

I had a choice today for my photo, either a Christmassy photo, or a hospital photo. I decided to go with the hospital,

After my car parking problems on Tuesday I left with plenty of time for delays. When I arrived the sign informed me there were more than 200 spaces available in which to park. Accordingly I had lots of time to spare.

The area I am attending is about as far away as it is possible to go from the main entrance. It is at least a five minute walk along lengthy corridors. On the way I pass the kitchen (maybe there is more than one). It is close to lunch time and it is a hive of activity as I quickly glance through the windows on my way past.

The hospital was originally opened in 1936. It was supposed to be opened by Edward V111, but he couldn’t be bothered, and preferred to meet up with Mrs Simpson instead. The official opening was then performed by his brother the Duke of York (later George V1).

The hospital seems to be a permanent building site as new buildings are added. As I was so early I decided to pause at the “Rotonda" entrance for a while. The grandeur of the Rotonda. suggests to me it may have been the main entance originally.

Although it looks deserted in the photo there are in fact lots of people around, all just to the left of the picture. They are there because there is a coffee stall here. After waiting at the Rotonda about twenty minutes I continued on may way to a much more modern building. I take the lift down two floors, though as the site is on a hill, this takes me back down to ground level, three floors down from ground level where I entered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.