David J. Rose

By djrose007

Tidying up the Graves

I haven't been to the graves for a while now, it's been very wet so not very good for doing gardening activities. I have, now and then, gone and made sure the weeds are not creeping over the lawn edging that I put in. There is one particular weed that creeps, has thin, red, vine like stems and once it gets hold it's pretty much impossible to get rid of. No sign of it encroaching today, thank goodness.
I used the strimmer to get the grass down around the edges and back of the headstones, removed dead geranium stalks and generally tidied up as well as polishing the Headstones. I use a polish that I have for the cars, no washing required. It's great stuff but doesn't last like a proper wax polish.
I've mentioned before but the concrete tub is for my Sister-in-Law, Sonia. There's a geranium in there and a salvia (Amethyst), which is recovering after it seemed to die off in the hot couple of weeks we had, which was about it for summer! Sonia isn't dead yet but I put it there just to mark her grave as the three plots were purchased 54 years ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.