tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Assistant gardener

I was planting  spring bulbs and she was 'helping'. I don't mind her picking out the worms and small creatures she spots with her eagle chicken eyes; it's when she starts scratching at the soil I've just put back that I get annoyed.*
Of our three hens Mrs B. is the one with least fear, no doubt because she started life as a battery chicken whose role was confined to  daily egg production and nothing else. She still lays but without pressure.

Elder son being home he launched upon the making of a Palestinian makluba, a dish that includes rice, meat and vegetables all layered in a cast iron pot and turned out when done as one entire moulded shape  like a sandcastle. Extra shows the ingredients before construction: mutton, onions, tomatoes, aubergines, carrots, beans, squash and maybe more. Tomorrow I'll show the final result! 

*Her beak is a bit stumpy from pecking = normal wear and tear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.