Hamp5on

By Hamp5on

Amigas

I'm backblipping as I ended the day with a very sicky migraine that had been brewing all day. 
The morning began with a long meeting with a French woman who wants me to do photos of her wine brand. It seems a lot more like a joint art project than a photo shoot, and should be good working out exactly how to convey her message and philosophy through images. I've got a couple of weeks to plan. The conversation was a mix of Spanish, French and English, and all 3 languages could be in the same sentence! So it took some concentration jumping between the 3, plus following her existential musings!! It was a lot longer than expected, but good to get to know her and to introduce her to Silvia who is interested in stocking the (French, Provençal) wine in the bar.
I popped to Sole's cafe to drop an old air fryer to her - she has no oven and I have never got to grips with the air fryer, so she was pleased, and it's given us more space so Mitch can have more space in the kitchen too. 
I also saw Luna whilst I was there, crying at people's tables. We agreed to meet later in the morning but she didn't show up. The time meant I got to have a phone call with Mom which was good. 
Mid afternoon I walked to where Asha and these girls had gone straight from their school day. It is one of the old school lads birthdays and his mom had gathered friends from that school for a lunch and get together. And invited me to have a drink with her whilst they were off playing. In this pic of the girls we have represented, Brazil, Ecuador, Ibiza and Britain! It did Asha good to have a few hours with them, especially after yesterday. The situation deteriorated after the friends who played the joke created a group chat with Asha in it and bombarded her with abuse. Needless to say I got in touch with one of the moms...I didn't know what to do, but I know this one girl is acting under the influence of a stronger girl who's not very kind. Anyway, seeing these chicas pictured helped, simpler friendships!
I left Asha at the party after a lovely catch up with Natalia, and marched back to town for Mercedes 61st birthday tea! I arrived to a gorgeous set up of a low table with a table cloth, china teacups and saucers, a china teapot...it made me feel homesick for Mom, it was just like something she would have arranged! Except it was in an extremely Spanish home arranged by an Ibicencan woman, ha! Her mother is English (87, but moved to the island for Mercedes Dad when she was 22!) which explains the china and tea. It was such a wonderful time, meeting a couple of Mercedes friends and hearing about the island and how it used to be. Utterly fascinating. 
Home and the brewing migraine took hold, thankfully Danny sent me off to bed before the kids had even finished tea!

Today I'm grateful for;
1) Meeting Melodie. I've not done any proper photography for a while...but I'm feeling inspired by her brief.
2) The eclectic mix of people in the day, and being included in Mercedes birthday celebrations.
3) A good chat with Mom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.