Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Reacquainted

(18/11/23)

G's mum would have been 102 today! Gosh. I promised G fish and chips to mark the anniversary, but as it happens, the day didn't go to plan.

Firstly, due to the traffic chaos caused by the food exhibition, we were advised to work from home. G's schedule for Wednesdays has changed. She goes in a bit later. Before she left, I asked her to take me to the local Puranmal store to get samosas for Nara. Diwali is fast approaching. We got there to discover they had scrapped all their savoury food and were only selling Diwali sweets for the next few days. Argh!

I got in touch with the garage to ask about the car, and they said it is ready, but they won't release it until after I've checked it. (Odd!) Anyway, G & I got there by 5:30. It was great to see the Peugeot again. I let the workshop manager do the drive. There was almost no petrol in the car, and Keith ignored my suggestion to drive to a nearby petrol station. It meant we drove slowly around the block. I got a quick snap of the engine before we left.

By this stage, commuter traffic had built up, and we were on the wrong side of down to where we wanted to be in less than an hour. Trying to add a meal in between was impossible. To make things worse, I missed a critical turn. Long story short, we made it to the SA meeting on time, but the evening had fallen apart. The garage still won't tell us the final figure for the car, which makes me think something isn't right.

Plans to eat out after the meeting were scrapped. In the end, we ordered a meal of biryani. It was delicious, and G's mum would have loved it, but it was as far from fish and chips as anything you could imagine! Oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.