West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Hippy Chick

A busy day in the houshold today, the twins had a coaching session at the rink, I was not motivated to skate but forced myself, my knees still beautiful shades of black and purple from over rotating, missing a landing and landing square on both knees, to add injury the twins then told me what I had done wrong, 8 going on 18!!!!

I had been up with the dawn and off walking but despite shooting off a series of frames had nothing I liked but nevertheless it was a beautiful walk and a beautiful morning, a morning to collect my thoughts I forgot my phone when I left and sadly missed my friend in those early hours, I don't like to miss their messages as they gladden my heart and always make me smile.

The twins had a party this afternoon, Mimi, as is her want occasionally wanted to shed her tomboy ways for the party dress but the party was to the climbing wall, then Frankie and Bennie's for a birthday tea. The compromise on the dress code jeans with roses!!! A good time was had be one and all, walls conquered, tea devoured, tired twinnies home.

Fraser was reliving his climbing escapades in the trees in the garden when he got home, Mimi content to watch a hula-hoop holding her attention, there was a little breeze rising and as Fraser was ordered to descend I caught a single frame of Mimi brushing her hair away from her face, a wistful smile and a far away look in her beautiful eyes. I was going to go walking again once they were in bed but when I saw this shot I just knew it was one for keeping.

My indulgence today is to enjoy this candid shot, the flowery jeans the spotty top , the innocence of childhood captured in a smile a moment to cherish, I know in the blink of an eye the twins will be grown, living their lives, finding love being loved sharing themselves with another, I know their hearts will break along the road and I know dad will be there to pick up the pieces. I return again to some lyrics that to me sum this journey up but also relate not only to our children but to those we hold dear, the friends we love and never want to be without.

I've got a picture hanging on the wall
It's hard to believe you were ever that small
Now you've got bigger ideas, greater ambitions
Higher to reach but further to fall
It used to be you needed me
But, now you've grown so tall and strong
Now you're on your own

But when the walls of your world come tumbling down
When your heart starts breaking
And there's no one around
Just look over your shoulder
Wherever you roam
Remember, you're never alone

You can love without limit
From deep in your soul
If you keep a young heart, girl
You will never grow old
You can fly to the moon
As high as it seems
But you can crash to the ground
On the wings of your dreams
But you will see there will be
Times when you feel ten feet tall
Times you have it all

I can't stop you from living
I can't blame you for trying
I can't stop you from loving
Can't keep you from crying

But when the walls of your world come tumbling down
When your heart starts breaking
And there's no one around
Just look over your shoulder
Wherever you roam
Remember, you're never alone


I hope you enjoy the shot, the lyric is by Rick Price and very talented Australian singer song writer, a lyric I could only dream of writing but never tire of singing...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.