This is the day

By wrencottage

Appearances can be deceptive ...

Today has been taken up with sorting out technical issues with my printer driver and also working out how to change a tinted background in a PDF to a transparent background.

That done, and another 120 Christmas cards printed off, I went to visit a friend who was recently bereaved. On my return, after I’d cooked risotto for supper, I realised I hadn’t taken a photo for today’s blip.

That was soon remedied with this shot of a picture on our kitchen wall. Actually it isn’t really a picture – it’s a tea towel! It was a present given to me by our daughter-in-law when she and our son got back from a short stay in Rye. I liked the picture so much that I bought a stretcher frame (and an electric staple gun!) and made my first attempt at stretching a canvas round a frame. I love seeing it on the wall while I’m working in the kitchen.

One of the reasons I like the tea towel, apart from its attractive depiction of Rye harbour, is that I’m a fan of both Henry James and E. F. Benson, both of whom at different times lived in Lamb House in Rye. The literary connection makes it even more special for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.