Islander

By BowenFoto

The Commute

The nature of my commute from Bowen Island has changed markedly and for the better since the pandemic. I now only need to go into town on average twice a week (there is some flexibility). But today we are interviewing a candidate for a position and we do those in person.

I actually don’t mind too much going in on a Friday since it’s such a quiet day. I treated myself to driving in since I took the kids to school and I would wait later and pick up Alex. It’s such a treat to commute where effort is rewarded with a view like the above of the rising sun hitting the mountains. The photo doesn’t really do it justice.

I’m in the hire car. I was very careful to park it away from the public entrance today but on returning to the car just after 8pm it looked like it had suffered again. I’m resigned to it now sadly. I don’t understand why it’s such a target.

We made on an offer for a wee cottage in Scotland, which was rejected. The offer was for less than the asking price but I think it was realistic in the circumstances. I will chat to solicitor over the weekend and work out where to go from here.

Canción del día: Tango the night away by Falco.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.