Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Do they still say it?

"It's all Greek to me."?

       T  B  H  I had NO idea I knew so much Greek; maybe a misspent youth in Sciences at school, deltas and sigmas etc. WELL that + the fact that a lot of the Greek Alphabet was used making the Cyrillic Alphabet; and knowing that C. C. C. P. was, in fact S. S. S. R. when anglicised. Better known to "us" as U. S. S. R.  
       On the "Tails" side I managed to anglicise it to - ELLINIKI DIMOKRATIA 10 DRAKMAI. Head side  - DIMOKRITOS. Have yet to ID the beardy bloke.
SO - of course I've just looked:-
       "The portrait in left profile of Democritus (460 - 370 BC), a Greek philosopher who developed the atomic theory of the universe surrounded with his name in Greek"
       Having either not known OR forgotten the Geezer I didn't recognise DIMOKRITOS  as being Democritus 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.