Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

PowerPoint

I’m giving a Medical Detection Dogs talk this week in Bedale so I have found out some details of a nearby dog partnership to add some local interest.

Chris has T1 diabetes and after trying every aid or technology there is, for years, he was still unable to manage his blood sugar: enter Ivan. Ivan alerts Chris when his blood sugar is out of range so he can take action before he becomes ill - previously he was ending up in hospital on a regular basis. Ivan has allowed Chris to live a normal life, work, go on holidays, just leave the house without his family worrying sick - things we all take for granted.

(Chris has agreed that his story can be used publicly so I’m not betraying any confidences!).

Last talk this year, then I have plenty lined up for 2024 - I love this little voluntary job!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.