ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

The 'Westmolen', Gorinchem

There is an 'Oostmolen', or 'East Windmill', but the choice is easy if one of them is facing the 'wrong' way.

Yet another spot that isn't far from where we live.  The shot does give another definition to the term 'blue hour'.  I believe it was a lot brighter than this, but, to be honest, the clouds hovering behind me did not help one bit.

The hunt was a quick late afternoon getaway.  Back behind my desk, finished the 'final paper' I submitted for one of the urban planning MOOCs.  I enjoy a challenge, yes.  Why?  Well... because.  Keeps my mind awake.  As for my hunting objectives, I'm ahead of the target at this point, but we have some months and mills to go yet.

The West Mill is the third of four that I've shot in Gorinchem.  There is just no end to the surprises and gems hidden so close to the motorways if one has the patience to look.  This was built in 1814 and has just been renovated.  It looks like a cozy cottage and, in fact, it is one -- a real live 'elf' lives in it.  :DD)))  I'm talking about the miller, of course.  Don't be fooled, this is still a perfectly working mill.

Anyway, eight MOOCs down (including one that was almost a waste of time) and now I have two full weeks to finish the last one, the one about football.  To think that it is the one course I thought would be peanuts.  Thankful for three intense weeks so far.  A good way to pass the time, but I want my Dec to be study-free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.